Memory box bookmarks!

I try to avoid folding the page on a book since it leaves a permanent crease and can be confusing if you choose to read it again. However, I have never actually bought myself a bookmark! because I usually have three or four books on the go at a time I prefer to use old photographs, pendants, postcards, or greetings cards. It’s the perfect home for those items that you keep for memory but don’t want to just shove in a shoebox to be forgotten about.
Here are some of my ‘memory box bookmarks’:

1. P1160391
This is a photo I taken when I visited New York Central Library, which was (naturally) the best part of the trip for me.

2.P1160393
During secondary school I was obsessed with the Arctic Monkeys. I went to see them in 2011 with a really good friend and even though we could only get seated tickets, we had an amazing time.

3.P1160390
This pendant was the first piece of costume jewelry my mum gave me (when I was about 8 years old) I lost the ribbon it hung on and It’s always just sat in a box with old photographs etc. I threaded a really thick piece of linen through it and created this bookmark. It’s one of my favorites because it always fits really comfortably in a book, and It’s sturdy so it doesn’t get ruined in my bag!(which would give Mary Poppins a run for her money).

4. P1160395P1160396
I absolutely love this bookmark! my friend gave me this card on my 18th birthday, and her mum wrote an adorable poem on the inside. It reminds me of all the great memories I have of not only my 18th party, but of my time at sixth form and all of the lovely memories made.

5. P1160398
This one isn’t so much a memory of any given event or time. However, following the theme of memory, I tend to read in bed a lot and always drift off quickly. I made this using a piece of card because I just think it’s funny that I really want to be one of those people that can stay up and read all night, but when it comes down to it, I read a couple of chapters and the next thing I know it’s morning and I awake with the book across my chest, or sprawled on the floor. What can I say, I value my sleep!

6. P1160394
This one reminds me of family summer holidays. To avoid midday sun (we’re ridiculously pale) me and my brother usually find a spot of shade somewhere with a breeze, and drink cappuccino whilst playing cards for an hour or so. What should be a relaxing past time, quickly turns into a deadly episode of sibling rivalry because we’re both such competitive characters!

7. P1160397
I also use train tickets, or entrance tickets to any events I have attended. I actually placed this inside my book whilst waiting for a few hours queuing at Wimbledon just so that it wouldn’t get lost in my bag. However, now I will use it and think of the memories created that day, of champagne and strawberry picnics and endless queues!

One thought on “Memory box bookmarks!

Leave a Reply

