The Seven Deadly Sins of Reading Tag…

This tag was created by BookishMalayza on YouTube.

Greed
1) what is your most expensive book, and what is your most inexpensive book?
Since I almost always buy my books from charity or used bookshops, it is difficult to select my most expensive book. However, I was given a beautiful hardback and cased copy of Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey by my Dad, which I know is worth approximately £35 so I guess it is the most expensive book on my otherwise second-hand shelf. My most inexpensive book is a little hardback pocket edition of Shakespeare’s Sonnets. I was in a used bookshop in Exeter paying for the course books I had spent hours sourcing out and it was in the 99p basket at the till. I was actually doing both a poetry and Shakespeare module so obviously I purchased it! It’s as adorable as a book can be, and I just love it!

Wrath
2) Which author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

*Inserts sneaky David Nicholls quotes wherever she can*

*Inserts sneaky David Nicholls quotes wherever she can*


David Nicholls is in my top 3 favorite writers ever, in fact, he could even be number 1 if I was decisive enough to pick one! I love his writing! I love the fact that his work is so heavy in dialogue and I love the way he flows so beautifully between emotional spaces and places. Now, I personally believe that love and hate are not so far apart, both are characterized by the passionate and the extreme, both require a great deal of energy, and both involve overwhelming care be it neglect or affection. This is why I have a love/hate relationship with David Nicholls! I love his writing so much and I care so much about his work that I hate him for not writing the hundreds of novels I wish I could fill my shelves with!

Gluttony
3) What book have you deliciously devoured over and over again, with no remorse whatsoever?
I am such a greedy reader! To be honest I don’t read, I devour. I read a book, get obsessed with it, and read it again and again until I could recite it and even if I hate it, I read it again to find out why. I first devoured a book at 10 years old, and it was Jacqueline Wilson’s The Suitcase Kid. The librarian of the local library was sorting through books to be given to charity, and gave it to me. I read the entire book that evening. I then read it every day for about a month and I’m not even exaggerating (which I admit I do tend to do). I still have the copy, the majority of the pages are attached to the spine by cello tape, the once vibrant cover has faded to water color shades, and the pages have gone a lovely dark yellow almost brown shade. Now, at 19, when I reminisce on childhood memories I genuinely feel as though the characters were real people that I encountered. I wish I could read with the mind of a child just once more, because the investment in the plot is extraordinarily deep!

Sloth
4) what book have you neglected reading due to laziness?
This answer is short and sweet (pardon the pun if it qualifies). I have avoided Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina for so long. I used to get the intention to embark on the long read during summer breaks, and then it would fade just as sudden as it arose. I feel terrible because ever since I saw the film adaptation I haven’t felt I need to read the book! Naughty I know, I will read it one day, I will!

Pride
5) what book do you most talk about in order to sound like a very intellectual reader?
Wuthering Heights! I have researched Emily Bronte and her masterpiece so thoroughly that given the opportunity I think I would actually be confident enough to deliver a lecture on the subject!

Lust
6) what attributes do you find most attractive in male or female characters?
In fiction and in real life I find men most attractive when they are passionate and ambitious, and protective of their ambition. There is nothing more attractive than a man that has energy and passion for someone or something and persists through the journey of pursuing them or it. I love it when you come across characters like this that directly address the reader because you feel as though you have a role to play as him supporter, as the reader you are there to listen to the anxieties that surface, and somehow, you feel as though by reading them and being aware of them you have diluted them for him and with that his attractiveness permeates.

Envy
7) what books would you most like to receive as a gift?
9781435136168_p0_v12_s260x420

9781435129764_p0_v1_s260x420
I have actually already received the best book gift! A good friend gave me a beautiful Barnes & Noble edition of Frankenstein as a Christmas present, and I just adore it. Since reading it throughout school and in University I have become somewhat of a Frankenstein scholar! So it really was perfect. I guess a book I would like to receive as a gift is the Barnes & Noble edition of Wuthering Heights because my copy is a worn out paper back! I could easily buy it for myself, but I wouldn’t, it would be so much more meaningful if it was received by someone that knew how much of a Wuthering Heights advocate I am!

I hope you enjoyed my first tag! Feel free to do the tag yourself and post the link below for me to read!

Leave a Reply

